Replacing 0 values with null

Hi guy I’m fairly new to Knime and I’m having difficulties with replacing the 0 values in the columns with null(missing data value).
I tried missing value node but I can’t figure out how to configure the node.
I also tried the java snippet node and again I couldn’t find any success.
Can anyone help me please :pray:

Hi @AminArbab

Welcome to KNIME Forum. You can use a Rule Engine node with:
afbeelding

to make all 0 values missing

afbeelding

gr. Hans

2 Likes

Hi @AminArbab, welcome to the KNIME community.

Following on from @HansS 's suggestion, in the rule engine you could also use the NOT syntax, to do the same thing.
e.g.

NOT $Random Values$ = 0 => $Random Values$

Multiple Columns?

Setting a specific value (often 0) to Missing across multiple columns is something that comes up on the forum from time to time and it’s perhaps surprising that there isn’t yet an opposite to the Missing Value node. The Missing Value node, by the way, is designed to turn missing values into another value rather than the other way round.

There are a number of ways to achieve this across multiple columns but I’m not aware of any out-of-the-box “perfect” solution that covers all situations. Ideally there would be a multi column rule engine, to do as per @HansS’s suggestion, but unfortunately there isn’t.

Math Formula (Multi-Column) could achieve it if all your columns to be modified are integer columns (and you tick the “Convert Select Columns to Int” box to stop it (annoyingly :wink: ) converting the result to Double!

if($$CURRENT_COLUMN$$==0,"",$$CURRENT_COLUMN$$)

If the zeroes are in String Columns, then Math Formula won’t work, so an option would be String Manipulation (Multi Column) with this formula:

string(
$$CURRENTCOLUMN$$.equals(“0”)?toNull(“”):$$CURRENTCOLUMN$$
)

but if they are in a mix of string and integer columns, this will have the undesirable effect of converting everything to string!